On October 27th 2016 the Dufferin Board of Trade (DBOT) hosted the Dufferin Business Excellence Awards at the Best Western Plus Orangeville Inn and Suites. The evening of celebration welcomed guests from every municipality in the County and showcased outstanding members of the Dufferin business community. A total of nine awards were presented throughout the evening; the usual eight distinguished awards were augmented this year by the presentation of the Chairman’s Award. Each award was designed and handmade by Kathryn Thomson of The Art of Glass in Amaranth. Local businesses participated through many different sponsorship opportunities. Award sponsors were proud to have the opportunity to present their award to the deserving recipient.

DBOT is pleased to announce the Recipients of the 2016 Dufferin Business Excellence Awards:


Business Excellence AwardAward Recipient
SustainabilityMillennium 1 Solutions
Local Economic ImpactDirect Plastics Ltd. Division of Novolex
Community PillarLord Dufferin Chapter IODE
Employer of the YearFamily Transition Place
Business of the Year – under 10 employeesHermosa Boutique
Business of the Year – 10 or more employeesShelburne Home Hardware Centre
Young Entrepreneur of the YearJamie-Lee Higginson
Dufferin Business Citizen of the YearStacey Coupland
Chairman’s AwardRon Munro


The evening provided an occasion to showcase the work that the Dufferin Board of Trade has undertaken since its repositioning and rebranding last October at this very same event. Joe Andrews, the Chair of DBOT spoke about the significance of the Business Excellence Awards, “This was an outstanding evening that highlighted the best and brightest in business in our region. The recipients of tonight’s distinguished awards set an example of excellence that resonates into every aspect of our Business community in Dufferin”. DBOT was also honoured to present Keynote Speaker Allan O’Dette, President and CEO of the Ontario Chamber of Commerce, who spoke about the importance of community involvement from within the business community.

Dufferin County Warden, Laura Ryan brought official greetings from the County and spoke briefly after the Gala saying “Tonight’s event was an expression of the best that Dufferin has to offer; every aspect of the evening showcased Dufferin County uniquely, proving that Dufferin is truly the best place to do business. I congratulate all the outstanding nominees and the recipients of the Business Excellence Awards”.

The Gala began with the Chairman’s Reception featuring local hors d’oeuvres provided by the Rosemont General Store, Lavender Blue Catering, and Fromage. The guests were entertained by live music courtesy of the Humber College jazz trio of Augustine Yates, Agneya Chikte and David MacLean. The evening then moved into the Hills of Headwaters Ballroom where the guests were wined and dined with a local food inspired menu prepared by Gourmandissimo.


For more information please contact:

Diana Morris, General Manager

Dufferin Board of Trade

519-941-0490 extension 202

[email protected]