Regional tourism industry businesses, representatives and community champions gathered together on Monday, December 5th at the new Adamo Estate Winery to celebrate excellence at the 2016 Headwaters Tourism Awards.

Guests at the event enjoyed fabulous taste sensations prepared by the team at Adamo Estate Winery, as they mingled and networked with their industry colleagues.

It seemed appropriate, during this holiday season, that the spirit of community was celebrated as an overarching theme.  Headwaters Tourism’s Board Chair, Stacey Coupland said, “the calibre of businesses, individuals and organizations in this room is a testament to the pride our residents and business owners have in working and living in the Headwaters region; listening to the work being done to support our communities is exceptional, and the nominees and winners tonight embody the spirit of community in the most positive way.”

This year’s award recipients received a 2016 Headwaters Tourism Award that is made from heritage barn beams that came directly from the Headwaters region, and that were supplied by our award sponsor, Century Wood Products in East Garafraxa.  The awards themselves embody the spirit of place in an authentic way.

We are proud to announce the winners of the 2016 Headwaters Tourism Awards:

Best Arts & Heritage Visitor Experience (tie)

  • Orangeville Blues & Jazz Festival
  • Theatre Orangeville

Best Fresh & Local Visitor Experience

  • Everdale

Best Fun & Festive Visitor Experience

  • Spirit Tree Wassailing Festival

Best Nature & Leisure Visitor Experience

  • Plant Paradise Country Gardens™

Best Horse & Country Visitor Experience

  • RCMP Musical Ride (Erin Agricultural Society)

Best See, Shop & Stay Experience

  • Heatherlea Farm Shoppe

Best New Tourism Business

  • GO Adventure Co.

Tourism Innovator of the Year

  • Mario Adamo

Tourism Partnership Award

  • Empty Bowls Alton

Tourism Champion of the Year (tie)

  • Susan Powell
  • Nick & Lindsay Sutcliffe
  • Gary van Bolderen


The evening concluded with Headwaters Tourism’s Board Chair, Stacey Coupland paying tribute to Ron Munro, whom she called “a friend, a colleague and a community champion”.

She went on to say that “instead of presenting a posthumous award in memory of Ron we have decided that planting a tree in his honour at our offices on Hockley Road would be the best tribute we could pay him.  He believed wholeheartedly in partnership and collaboration, so planting a tree at the offices we share with the Board of Trade, on a property owned by the Town of Mono seems so very appropriate.  And he loved trees, and flowers and plants, so this feels like a fitting tribute.”  Guests then raised a glass in honour of Ron Munro, in recognition of all he did for our region.

A debt of gratitude to the event’s official photographer, James MacDonald who captured moments from the magical evening and each of the winners.  Thank you also to our event and award sponsors, Adamo Estate Winery and Century Wood Products.

The Board of Directors of Headwaters Tourism, on behalf of their municipal partners in  Dufferin County and the Towns of Caledon, Erin, Mono and Shelburne, congratulate all the tourism operators, nominees and award winners who help make Headwaters one of Ontario’s premier rural tourism destinations, and Where Ontario Gets Real!


For further information please contact:  Michele Harris, Executive Director

519-942-0314 | 800-332-9744, ext 201

519-215-2771 (c)

[email protected]